Federal Skills Trades

Federal Skills Trades

All Economic Class programs are designed to bring immigrants to Canada who can establish themselves economically in the country.

The Federal Skilled Trade Class is part of the Economic Class and this is managed by the Express Entry program. Approximate processing times are currently 6 months once an Invitation to Apply (ITA) is received.

To be eligible to apply, you must meet the program requirements.

Spoken English

Federal Skilled Trades Class requirements:

These NOC B level occupations will be eligible for this program:

This amounts to a total of 90 eligible occupations. These eligible occupations fall into the following general categories:

Certification or Offer of Employment

Trade certification in Canada falls under provincial jurisdiction. Each province outlines which professions will be regulated and establishes regulatory bodies where applicable. Provincial certification is often difficult to obtain from outside Canada and accordingly this program will be most beneficial to tradespeople who obtain an approved offer of employment from a recognized employer, or who are already working in Canada as temporary foreign workers. Not all trades are regulated in all of the provinces. Where a trade is not regulated, an offer of employment becomes mandatory.

Tradespeople who obtain an approved offer of employment for one year or more in their trade from a Canadian employer are also eligible to apply. The offer of employment will be evaluated to ensure that it is an eligible trade and that the hiring will have a neutral effect on the Canadian Labour Market.

Final Criteria before getting Permenant Residence:

Once selected from the Express entry Pool and awarded with an Invitation to Apply (ITA), candidates and their dependants must also undergo medical examinations and obtain security clearances as part of the Canadian immigration application process.